Louisiana Citizens Assessment Rebate
Who is eligible to claim the rebate?
If you pay property insurance in Louisiana, you are eligible for a state rebate for the Louisiana Citizens assessment. That means if you're a renter, homeowner or business owner and pay property insurance, you're eligible. The rebate can be claimed for 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016 and 2017, once you've paid your policy in full. The option to claim the 2013 rebate will expire at the end of 2017.
What is the Louisiana Citizens Assessment Rebate?
The Louisiana Citizens Property Insurance Corporation (Citizens) assessment is part of your property insurance bill each year.
The assessment is payment for bonds issued by Citizens to cover the large amount of damages caused by Hurricane Katrina. What you might not know is that the amount you pay for the assessment is partially refundable. Following the passage of Act No. 125 of the 2015 Legislative Session, 72 percent is refundable for assessments paid for 2013, 2014 and 2015. Following the passage of Act No. 9 of the 2016 Second Extraordinary Legislative Session, 25 percent is refundable for assessments paid for 2016 and 2017. The dollar amount of the assessment can be found on the declaration page of your insurance policy.
Whether you are with Citizens or another insurer, all property insurance policyholders pay the Citizens assessment and are entitled to claim the rebate. Hundreds of millions of dollars are left unclaimed each year.
How do I claim my rebate?
Rebates for 2013 - 2017 can be claimed in one of three ways:
- Claim the rebate as a tax credit on your Louisiana Income Tax Return due each May. With this option your rebate will be included in your total tax calculation. You can also file an amended tax return to claim the rebate for past years.
- Claim the rebate online through the Louisiana Department of Revenue's website www.revenue.louisiana.gov/fileonline. Users will need to create an account to access the electronic form for claiming their Citizens rebate.
- Claim the rebate by filling out a paper form. Fill out and mail the one-page form along with the insurance declarations page to the Louisiana Department of Revenue. If you don't have the declarations page, contact your insurance agent who may be able to help you. You can find the forms for several years on our Citizens Rebate Forms page or on the Louisiana Department of Revenue website.
Businesses may claim the Citizens rebate by filing the Department of Revenue Form R-620INS or by filing a current-year or amended tax return.
Remember: Rebates for assessments paid expire every four years. Therefore, assessments paid in 2013 must be claimed by the end of 2017.