Volume 7, Issue 11 November 2016


SHIIPLogo

Our monthly newsletter addresses consumer insurance topics as well as timely information on issues affecting senior citizens in Louisiana.

newsletter_07

To find out if Consumer Advocacy will be in your area or to request a speaker for your organization or group, call (225) 219-0619 or send an email to: consumeradvocacy@ldi.la.gov

Upcoming Events

LDI On the Road: 2017 Medicare Update

Date: November 1, 2016
Time: 10:00 a.m.- 12:00 p.m.
Location: Whispering Pines Nursing Home
309 Highway 3
Plain Dealings, LA

LDI On the Road: 2017 Medicare Update

Date: November 3, 2016
Time: 10:00 a.m.- 12: 00 p.m.
Location: The Columns Community Care Center
3025 4th Street
Jonesville, LA

LDI On the Road: 2017 Medicare Update

Date: November 4, 2016
Time: 11:30 a.m.- 12:30 p.m.
Location: Lady of the Sea Hospital Learning Center
200 W. 134th Place
Cut Off, LA

LDI On the Road: Connections for Independent Living Expo

Date: November 10, 2016
Time: 9:00 a.m. 1:30 p.m.
Location: Robicheaux Recreation Center
1919 Eraste Landry Road
Lafayette, LA

LDI On the Road: 2017 Medicare Update

Date: November 17,  2016
Time: 10:00 a.m.
Location: Jeff Davis Council on Aging
210 State Street
Jennings, La

LDI On the Road: 2017 Medicare Update

Date: November 25, 2016
Time: 10:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m.
Location: St. Elizabeth Hospital Campus, Sister Vernola Conference Room
1125 LA W. Highway 30
Gonzales, LA

 

View Louisiana's Open Meetings Law on the legislative website by clicking here.

 

2017 Open Enrollment Reminders

Louisiana families hoping to apply for health insurance coverage through the Health Insurance Marketplace can begin signing up now. The enrollment period will run through January 31, 2017.  During this time period, you can review available plans and determine which works best for you. The Louisiana Department of Insurance is offering some guidance to help you better understand the open enrollment process.

  • Review your plan’s network. Make sure your doctor and other health care providers are included in your plan. Going out-of-network may cost you more money.
  • A subsidy may help pay your premium. If you meet certain income requirements you may be eligible for a tax credit. A subsidy is usually available for families with incomes between 100 percent and 400 percent of the poverty level.
  • Penalties for not having health insurance. Remember you have to choose a plan by January 31, 2017. The penalty for not having health insurance is 2.5 percent of your yearly household income or a fee for each person in your household without health insurance.

Health coverage will begin January 1 for individuals who choose a plan by December 15, 2016. A licensed health insurance agent can help you explore your choices and also help you determine if you’re eligible to receive financial assistance paying your premium. The Louisiana Department of Insurance (LDI) maintains a searchable database of licensed insurance agents.



________________________________________________________________________

 

 

Medicare graphic

Know Your Medicare Options

Medicare Open Enrollment ends December 7. When trying to decide on a plan keep an eye on the level of coverage and the cost of the premiums and deductibles. You want to choose a plan that fits your household budget. The Louisiana Department of Insurance’s Senior Health Insurance Information Program (SHIIP) has made it easy for you to compare plans. The 2017 Medicare Advantage Plans are available by parish. Simply click on the parish you live in, to see a list of plans available and benefits. Senior health insurance counselors are available to help you. Find help near you by clicking here or calling 1-800-259-5300.


________________________________________________________________________




                                                 traffic

Holiday Travel Tips

Drivers will soon hit the road for the Thanksgiving holiday. Before you map out your destination, review your auto insurance policy. If you’re involved in an accident, here are a few things to remember:

  • Report the accident to the police.
  • Write down the other driver’s name, address, phone number, make, model, and license plate number.
  • Collect contact information of witnesses.
  • If possible, take photos of the accident scene.
  • Get a copy of the accident report.
  • Contact your insurance agent or company

If another driver is responsible for the accident, their insurance company should cover your rental car costs. If you file a claim with your own insurance company, the cost of the rental car will only be covered if you paid a premium to include rental reimbursement coverage in your policy.

 

________________________________________________________________________


Stay Connected with the LDI

Keep up with tips and news from the LDI, including newsletters, press releases and videos, by connecting with us through social media.


facebook   Like linkedin  Connect


twitter  Follow

youtube Subscribe

 

You can discontinue this communication by clicking {|MergeContextItems.UnsubscribeLink|}.

Office of Consumer Advocacy
(225) 219-0619 or (800) 259-5300

P.O Box 94214
www.ldi.la.gov

Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9214
consumeradvocacy@ldi.la.gov