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Jerusalem Economic
Development
Corporation

Date: March 15, 2014
Time: 10:00 a.m.
Location: 1228 Arts St.,
New Orleans, LA 70117

Affordable Care Act
101 & Medicare
Presentation

Date: March 17, 2014
Time: 6:00 p.m.
Location: Foreman-
Reynaud Community
Center

215 Albert Street, Lake
Charles, LA 70601

Jefferson Parish 2014
Senior Exposition
(Booth)

Date: March 18, 2014
Time: 8:00 a.m.
Location: Pontchartrain
Center

4545 Williams Blvd.,
Kenner, LA 70065

ACA 101 - East Baton
Rouge Parish Mayor-
President's Office
Date: March 20, 2014
Time: 6:00 p.m.
Location Jones Creek
Regional Branch Library
6222 Jones Creek Road,
Baton Rouge, LA 70817

Community Against
Drugs and Violence
Meeting

Date: March 25, 2014
Time: 6:00 p.m.
Location: 7373 Scenic
Highway, Baton Rouge,
LA 70807

East New Orleans

Claim Your Property Insurance Rebate

Did you know that each year property owners in Louisiana are leaving
millions of dollars on the table? Be sure to take the simple steps this year
to claim the money that’s owed to you! Insurance Commissioner Jim
Donelon recently embarked on his annual statewide public awareness
campaign to remind Louisiana property owners to claim their Louisiana
Citizens Property Insurance Corporation (Citizens) assessment rebate
when they file their taxes this year.

The Citizens assessment is payment for bonds issued by Citizens to cover
the damages caused by Hurricane Katrina. The assessment is passed on to
property and casualty policyholders each year by insurance companies
who are responsible for paying the cost of the bond. The dollar amount of
the assessment can be found on the declaration page of the policy and is
fully refundable to consumers once they have paid their annual insurance
bill. However, every year hundreds of millions of dollars are unclaimed.

At the end of 2013, nearly two-thirds of available Citizens rebate funds
were unclaimed. That is $240 million dollars Louisiana property owners
could have received between 2010 and 2013 but didn’t. The average
rebate for individuals and businesses combined is around $116.

Tax season is one of the most convenient times to claim the Citizens
rebate, but it can be claimed at any point during the year in one of three
ways. Those three ways are:

e Claim the rebate as a tax credit on your Louisiana Income Tax
Return due each May. With this option your rebate will be included
in your total tax calculation.

e Claim the rebate online through Louisiana File Online.
Policyholders claiming the rebate electronically can choose to
receive it by direct deposit, paper check or a debit card.

e Claim the rebate by filling out form R-540INS at
www.revenue.louisiana.gov and click on the “Citizens Insurance
Rebate” option. As soon as you pay the insurance premium that
includes the Citizens assessment, you can fill out a short rebate form
for each year that you paid the Citizens assessment, which is form R-
540INS. You can mail or fax it in, along with your insurance
declaration page for that year, which shows the amount of your paid
assessment. Forms for all four calendar years are located on the LDI
and LDR websites. Individual policyholders may also claim the rebate
by amending a prior-year tax return.

Businesses may claim the Citizens rebate by filing the Department of
Revenue Form R-620INS or by filing a current-year or amended tax
return. A copy of the insurance policy declaration page showing proof of
the assessment amount must be attached to any claim form.

To ensure you receive your rebate as quickly as possibly there are a few
things you should avoid:



http://www.revenue.louisiana.gov/fileonline
http://revenue.louisiana.gov/sections/general/calac/default.aspx
http://www.revenue.louisiana.gov/
http://revenue.louisiana.gov/sections/general/calac/default.aspx
https://www.facebook.com/lainsurancedept
https://twitter.com/LAInsuranceDept
http://www.ldi.state.la.us/about-jim-donelon

Neighborhood Advisory
Commission (ENONAC)
Affordable Healthcare
Insurance Symposium
Date: March 29, 2014
Time: 11:00 a.m.
Location: Crowder
Church of Christ

7301 Crowder Blvd.,
New Orleans, LA 70127

To find out if Consumer
Advocacy will be in your
area or to request a
speaker for your
organization or group,
call (225) 219-0619 or

send an email to
consumeradvocacy@ldi.la.gov

If you no longer wish to receive
this newsletter please send an
email to the following address
with "REMOVE FROM CONSUMER
ADVOCACY MAILING LIST" in the
subject line.

public@ldi.la.gov

Do not claim the rebate on both the INS form and the tax return.

e Do not claim the total insurance premium, only the Citizens
assessment.

« Include a copy of their insurance policy declaration page if filing the
R-540INS or R-620INS paper forms, showing proof of the assessment
amount when requesting the Citizens rebate. If filing electronically,
keep a copy of the declaration page with your tax form in case of an
audit.

« For multiple properties, send in the R-INS Supplement form with
your single rebate form for all properties rather than a separate
rebate form for each property.

During his public awareness campaign, Commissioner Donelon will also be
reminding property owners about the benefits of voluntarily retrofitting
your home to comply with the Louisiana State Uniform Construction Code.
By doing this, property owners may become eligible for both a state tax
deduction and insurance premium discounts for strengthening their homes
against storms and hurricanes.

For more information on the Citizens assessment rebate, visit the
Louisiana Department of Insurance homepage and click on the Citizens
Insurance Rebate banner. Here you can access the necessary forms and
find more information on the Louisiana State Uniform Construction Code
state tax deduction and insurance premium discounts.

Health Care Resources for the Uninsured

Each year hundreds of thousands of people in Louisiana go uninsured. But
there are health care resources available to them and the Louisiana
Health Care Commission (LHCC) recently developed a series of brochures
titled “Heath Care Resources for the Uninsured” for Louisiana’s uninsured
or underinsured population. The brochures provide valuable information
on how to obtain different types of coverage depending on the
individual’s needs and can be found here.

The brochures provide information on various health centers and school -
based health centers which offer primary care services. The brochures
also provide more specialized information pertaining to mental health
and substance abuse counseling and treatment, cancer and hearing
screening, dental, prescription drug assistance, dietary counseling,
maternal and parenting counseling, early childhood care, and HIV support
programs. They also include information for senior citizens and military
veterans.

Currently there are six brochures in the series for different regions of the
state. Those regions are:

Greater Baton Rouge;
Houma;

Central Louisiana;
Northwest Louisiana;
Northeast Louisiana;
and the Northshore.

The health commission is working to develop brochures for all regions
within the state. If a brochure for your region is not currently available,
check back periodically, and one should become available soon.

The health commission was designed to review and study the issues
affecting the availability, affordability and delivery of quality health care
in Louisiana. The Commission conducts public meetings to receive



mailto:consumeradvocacy@ldi.la.gov
mailto:public@ldi.la.gov
http://www.ldi.la.gov/consumers/citizens-rebate
http://www.ldi.la.gov/consumers/citizens-rebate
http://www.ldi.la.gov/consumers/insurance-type/healthinsurance/cover-the-uninsured
http://www.ldi.la.gov/docs/default-source/documents/health/lhcc/baton-rouge-regional-resources.pdf?sfvrsn=8
http://www.ldi.la.gov/docs/default-source/documents/health/lhcc/houma-regional-resources.pdf?sfvrsn=8
http://www.ldi.la.gov/docs/default-source/documents/health/lhcc/central-regional-resources.pdf?sfvrsn=8
http://www.ldi.la.gov/docs/default-source/documents/health/lhcc/northwest-regional-resources.pdf?sfvrsn=8
http://www.ldi.la.gov/docs/default-source/documents/health/lhcc/northeast-regional-resources.pdf?sfvrsn=8
http://www.ldi.la.gov/docs/default-source/documents/health/lhcc/northshore-regional-resources.pdf?sfvrsn=8

information and testimony from regional and national experts on health
care access issues. The commission also participates in examining
implementation issues related to national health care reform initiatives.

Insured, But No Proof: What to Do If You Haven't Received

Proof of Insurance Coverage

Since open enrollment began on October 1, 2013, complications within
health insurance marketplaces have created challenges for new enrollees
as well as insurers offering coverage in the marketplace. Some companies
received incomplete or incorrect Information from health insurance
marketplaces. While other companies received so many applications for
health insurance that they were not able to process them by the time the
new plans went into effect.

As a result, many consumers have not received proof of insurance
coverage from their selected provider in the marketplace and have been
left wondering if they really have health insurance. If you recently
purchased a plan, but still haven’t received proof of insurance from your
insurance company, here are some tips provided by the National
Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC).

Contact the Company

The first thing you should do is contact you insurance company to verify
you have coverage. Ask them for proof of coverage, such as an insurance
card or identification numbers. When you speak to your insurer,
remember to take detailed notes of the conversation. Include the date
and time the conversation took place as well as the name of the
representative. Keep all copies of written communication (emails or
letters) from your insurer as you may need them later.

Note: If you are about to purchase coverage using the health insurance
marketplace, be sure to print out any paperwork or confirmations that
you receive during the enrollment process.

Payment Options

You may need to get a prescription filled or see your doctor before you
receive your insurance card. Your provider (hospital, doctor, pharmacy)
may be able to verify your coverage by contacting your insurer directly. If
verification of coverage cannot be obtained, you still have options.

One option is to pay for expenses out of pocket. Once your insurance
coverage is established, your insurer should reimburse you to the extent
that the service or medication is covered under your policy. You may also
be able to work with your doctor’s office, hospital or pharmacy to delay
billing or set up a payment plan until they can verify that you’re insured.
Make sure you keep receipts and any bank statements that show you’ve
paid for the services.

Contact the LDI

If you are still having trouble obtaining proof of coverage from your
insurer, you can contact the Louisiana Department of Insurance (LDI) at 1-
800-259-5300 for assistance.

Stay Connected with the LDI

Keep up with tips and news from the LDI, including newsletters, press
releases and videos, by connecting with us through social media.
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