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Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 
Part LXVI.  Radiologic Technologists 

Chapter 12. Continuing Education Requirements 
§1217. Fee and Expenses 

A. The rules of this Chapter prescribe the fees and costs 
applicable to the licensing of radiologic technologists and 
permitting of Limited X-ray Machine Operators (LXMO). 

B. For processing applications for licensure and permits, 
the following fees shall be payable to the board: 

1. initial two-year radiographer, nuclear medicine, 
radiation therapy or fusion technologist license, $150; 

2. duplicate license, $25; 
3. biennial renewal of license, 2 years, or biennial 

renewal of LXMO permit, 2 years, $150; 
4. issuance of ninety 90-day temporary radiographer, 

nuclear medicine, or radiation therapy working permit, 1-
year temporary fusion technology permit, or 1-year 
temporary LXMO permit; $50; 

5. late fee in addition to the renewal fee for a license 
or permit placed on an expired status using a postmark date, 
$200;  

6. reinstatement of a license or LXMO two-year 
permit that has been revoked or suspended, $300.  

C. - C.5 … 
6. Processing and handling a request for the board’s 

endorsement of licensure or permit status to another state for 
the purpose of reciprocity, $50. All requests will be 
processed within 5 business days. Requests completed by the 
board will be mailed or emailed. No verbal responses will be 
provided; 

C.7. - E. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:3207 and 3220.  
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Radiologic Technology Board of Examiners, 
LR 21:181 (February 1995), amended LR 40:2266 (November 
2014), amended by the Department of Health, Radiologic 
Technology Board of Examiners, LR 42:2191 (December 2016), 
amended by the Department of Health, Radiologic Technology 
Board of Examiners, LR 51:803 (June 2025). 

 
Hollie Taranto, M.B.A., R.T.(R) 
Executive Director 

2506#011 
 

RULE 

Department of Insurance 
Office of the Commissioner 

Regulation 131—Plan for Nonrenewal or Cancellation of 
Homeowners Policies in Effect and Renewed for  

More Than Three Years (LAC 37:XIII.Chapter 202) 

The Department of Insurance, pursuant to the authority of 
the Louisiana Insurance Code, R.S. 22:1 et seq., and in 
accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:950 et seq., has promulgated Regulation 131—Plan for 
Nonrenewal or Cancellation of Homeowners Policies in 
Effect and Renewed for More Than Three Years. 

The Department of Insurance has promulgated Regulation 
131 to implement the provisions of Act 2024, No. 9 of the 
Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature, which allows 
an insurer to notify the commissioner of its plan to nonrenew 
or cancel up to five percent of its insureds’ homeowners 
policies in a calendar year that have been in effect for at least 
three years on or before August 1, 2024, for any reason and 
to request the commissioner’s approval of a plan to 
nonrenew or cancel more than five percent of its insureds’ 
homeowners policies in a calendar year that have been in 
effect for three years or more on or before August 1, 2024. 
This Rule is hereby adopted on the day of promulgation. 

Title 37 
INSURANCE 

Part XIII.  Regulations 
Chapter 202. Regulation Number 131—Plan for 

Nonrenewal or Cancellation of 
Homeowners Policies in Effect and 
Renewed for More Than Three Years 

§20201. Authority 
A. Regulation 131 is issued pursuant to the authority 

vested in the commissioner pursuant to the provisions of Act 
2024, No. 9 of the Regular Session of the Louisiana 
Legislature and in accordance with the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. R.S. 22:11, and 
22:1265(F). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:2, R.S. 22:11, 22:1265, Act 2024, No. 9 of the Regular Session 
of the Louisiana Legislature, and the Administrative Procedure Act, 
R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 51:803 (June 2025). 
§20203. Purpose 

A. The purpose of Regulation 131 is to implement the 
provisions of Act 2024, No. 9 of the Regular Session of the 
Louisiana Legislature, which allows an insurer to notify the 
commissioner of its plan to nonrenew or cancel up to five 
percent of its insureds’ homeowners policies in a calendar 
year that have been in effect for at least three years on or 
before August 1, 2024, for any reason and to request the 
commissioner’s approval of a plan to nonrenew or cancel 
more than five percent of its insureds’ homeowners policies 
in a calendar year that have been in effect for three years or 
more on or before August 1, 2024. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:2, R.S. 22:11, 22:1265, Act 2024, No. 9 of the Regular Session 
of the Louisiana Legislature, and the Administrative Procedure Act, 
R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 51:803 (June 2025). 
§20205. Scope and Applicability 

A. Regulation 131 requires insurers providing property, 
casualty, or liability insurance to submit a plan for 
nonrenewal or cancellation of certain homeowners’ policies 
pursuant to R.S. 22:1265(L) to the Louisiana Department of 
Insurance. 

B. Regulation 131 only applies to insurers seeking to 
comply with the provisions of R.S. 22:1265(L). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:2, R.S. 22:11, 22:1265, Act 2024, No. 9 of the Regular Session 
of the Louisiana Legislature, and the Administrative Procedure Act, 
R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 51:803 (June 2025). 
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§20207. Definitions 
A. As used in Regulation 131, these terms shall have 

the following meaning ascribed herein unless the context 
clearly indicates otherwise. 

Commissioner—the Louisiana Commissioner of 
Insurance. 

Department—the Louisiana Department of Insurance. 
Homeowners Insurance—a policy of insurance on a one- 

or two-family owner-occupied premises, which combines 
fire and allied lines with any one or more perils of casualty, 
liability, or other types of insurance within one policy form 
at a single premium, where the insurer's liability for damage 
to the premises under said policy is determined with 
reference to the replacement value of the premises.  

Homeowners Policies—shall mean for purposes of this 
regulation, policies of homeowners insurance that have been 
in effect for more than three years on or before August 1, 
2024. 

Nonrenewal or Cancellation Date—the termination date 
of an insured’s policy of homeowners insurance. 

Insured―customers owning homeowners policies as 
provided for in R.S. 22:1265. 

Insurer—any insurer that provides property, casualty, and 
liability insurance in the state of Louisiana. 

Not In The Public Interest—means the imposition of a 
plan to cancel or nonrenew up to 5 percent of homeowners 
policies that has an outsized impact on a specific coastal 
geographic area, zip code, or parish. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:2, R.S. 22:11, 22:1265, Act 2024, No. 9 of the Regular Session 
of the Louisiana Legislature, and the Administrative Procedure Act, 
R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 51:804 (June 2025). 
§20209. Plan for Nonrenewal or Cancellation 

A. Any insurer that makes a filing pursuant to R.S. 
22:1265(L) for the nonrenewal or cancellation of up to five 
percent or for more than five percent of its insureds’ 
homeowners policies in Louisiana in a calendar year shall 
file with the commissioner a Plan for Nonrenewal or 
Cancellation setting forth the insurer's plan in the state of 
Louisiana. A Plan for Nonrenewal or Cancellation shall not 
include a nonrenewal or cancellation of more than 5 percent 
of the insurer’s homeowners’ policies in force in any one 
parish that is subject to the “3-year rule”, unless authorized 
by the commissioner under Paragraph C of this section. The 
commissioner shall have the discretion to disapprove any 
Plan for Nonrenewal or Cancellation up to five percent if 
deemed to not be in the public interest. Approval by the 
commissioner is required for a Plan for Nonrenewal or 
Cancellation requesting more than 5 percent of its insureds’ 
homeowners’ policies in any one parish in Louisiana in a 
calendar year. An insurer shall only send a notice of 
nonrenewal or cancellation to an insured on or after January 
1, 2025. The commissioner shall provide written approval to 
the insurer. The Plan for Nonrenewal or Cancellation shall 
include, but not be limited to the following: 

1. a listing of the physical addresses, types of policies, 
zip code and parishes for the properties that will be the 
subject of the requested nonrenewal or cancellation process; 

2. data submitted through a LDI portal or link to such 
data by parish representing each proposed parish and zip 
code affected by the nonrenewal or cancellation, along with 

the deductible amount. The data shall pinpoint all proposed 
homeowners policies to be nonrenewed or cancelled and 
demonstrate compliance with the requirement that no more 
than 5 percent of the insurer’s homeowners policies in force 
in any one parish that is subject to the “3 year rule” and a 
listing of those homeowners policies that may be 
nonrenewed or cancelled; 

3. a policy count of all active homeowners policies 
meeting the eligibility criteria under the current “3-year 
rule” concept, including policy inception date and 
nonrenewal or cancellation date. The policy count and a 
percentage of the amount of homeowners policies being 
nonrenewed or cancelled shall be presented on a statewide 
basis, as well as a per parish basis and zip code basis; 

4. the coverage A limits or residential coverage limit 
for each property risk that will be the subject of the 
requested nonrenewal or cancellation; 

5. a listing of homeowners policies inception date, 
nonrenewal or cancellation dates for all homeowners 
policies, premium amount, that will be subject to the non-
renewal or cancellation; 

6. a mathematical breakdown that illustrates 
compliance with the requirement that no more than 5 percent 
of the insurer’s homeowners policies in force in any one 
parish that is subject to the “3-year rule” and a listing of 
homeowners’ policies that may be nonrenewed or cancelled; 

7. the insurer's total homeowners policies in force in 
the particular zip code and parish; 

8. the insurer's total homeowners policies in force in 
the state; 

9. the insurer's premium by state and by parish as a 
percentage of the insurer’s total written premium in the state; 
and 

10. any other factors that the commissioner determines 
are applicable, relevant, and appropriate. 

B. Any business plan, documentation or information 
filed pursuant to Regulation 131 shall be considered 
proprietary or trade secret pursuant to the provisions of R.S. 
44:3.2 and the Uniform Trade Secrets Act pursuant to 
Chapter 13-A of Title 51 of the Louisiana Revised Statutes 
of 1950 shall be applicable to any business plan, 
documentation or information. 

C. Subject to the review and approval of the 
commissioner, an insurer may submit a request to non-renew 
more than 5 percent in any parish. In determining whether to 
grant the request, the commissioner will consider the impact 
of the request on the insurer’s risk and financial profile, the 
ability of the insurer to maintain or expand its operations, the 
cost of reinsurance and such other factors as the insurer shall 
submit or the commissioner shall deem necessary for the 
evaluation of the request to determine its overall impact on 
the insurance market. The commissioner will approve or 
reject any request within thirty days of submission. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:2, R.S. 22:11, 22:1265, Act 2024, No. 9 of the Regular Session 
of the Louisiana Legislature, and the Administrative Procedure Act, 
R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 51:804 (June 2025). 
§20211. Rescission 

A. The commissioner may rescind his approval of any 
Plan for Nonrenewal or Cancellation filing made pursuant to 
this Regulation if it is subsequently determined that the 
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insurer made any material misrepresentation in its 
submission, or if the insurer violates the statutory 
prohibitions against discrimination contained in provisions 
of R.S. 22:34, R.S. 22:35(A), R.S. 22:1964, or if the insurer 
violates any provision of Title 22 through the 
implementation of its approved plan. 

B. The commissioner shall set forth the date when such 
rescission shall be effective and such other terms as are 
necessary to effectuate a rescission. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:2, R.S. 22:11, 22:1265, Act 2024, No. 9 of the Regular Session 
of the Louisiana Legislature, and the Administrative Procedure Act, 
R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 51:804 (June 2025). 
§20213. Enforcement 

A. The commissioner may take any and all 
administrative action provided in Title 22 whenever an 
insurer is found to be in violation of R.S. 22:34, R.S. 
22:35(A), R.S. 22:1964, or any provision of law pursuant to 
Title 22. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:2, R.S. 22:11, R.S. 22:1265, Act 2024, No. 9 of the Regular 
Session of the Louisiana Legislature, and the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 51:805 (June 2025). 
§20215. Effective Date 

A. Regulation 131 shall become effective upon final 
publication in the Louisiana Register. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:2, R.S. 22:11, 22:1265, Act 2024, No. 9 of the Regular Session 
of the Louisiana Legislature, and the Administrative Procedure Act, 
R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 51:805 (June 2025). 
§20217. Severability 

A. If any section or provision of Regulation 131 or the 
application to any person or circumstance is held invalid, 
such invalidity or determination shall not affect other 
sections or provisions or the application of Regulation 131 to 
any persons or circumstances that can be given effect 
without the invalid section or provision or application, and 
for these purposes the Sections and provisions of Regulation 
131 and the application to any persons or circumstances are 
severable. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:2, R.S. 22:11, 22:1265, Act 2024, No. 9 of the Regular Session 
of the Louisiana Legislature, and the Administrative Procedure Act, 
R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 51:805 (June 2025). 

 
Timothy J. Temple 
Commissioner 

2506#017 
 

RULE 

Department of Public Safety and Corrections 
Office of Motor Vehicles 

Driving Schools (LAC 55:III.159) 

Under the authority of R.S. 32:402.1(A)(1) and R.S. 
40:1461, and in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:961 et seq., the 
Office of Motor Vehicles amends Section 159 in Chapter 1, 
regarding driving schools. The amended §159 changes 
verbiage saying fines may be assessed and adds a schedule 
of fines. This is in accordance with Act 579 of the 2024 
Regular Session. This Rule becomes effective upon the 
promulgation of the permanent Rule in the Louisiana 
Register on June 20, 2025. This Rule is hereby adopted on 
the day of promulgation. 

Title 55 
PUBLIC SAFETY 

Part III.  Motor Vehicles 
Chapter 1. Driver’s License 
Subchapter A. General Requirements 
§159. Suspension, Revocation and Penalty Assessment 

A. All regulations outlined in this Chapter shall be 
adhered to by the driving school and its employees. The 
Office of Motor Vehicles may fine, suspend or revoke any 
driving school license, instructor license, examiner license, 
owner license or third-party tester agreement issued under 
these rules and regulations upon discovery of satisfactory 
evidence of violations. If the violation involves the owner of 
the driving school or other management staff, then the 
driving school may be assessed fines, or the license may be 
suspended or revoked, or both. If the violation involves the 
instructor, then the instructor may be assessed fines, or the 
license may be suspended or revoked, or both. Fines will be 
assessed based on the schedule of fines. If the fine is not 
paid within 30 days of the mailing of the notice of the fine, 
or an administrative hearing is not requested, the license, the 
contract, or both may be suspended or revoked. 

 

 


