Consumer’s Guide to
Auto Insurance

Tim Temple
Commissioner of Insurance




A Message from
Commissioner of Insurance
Tim Temple

The Louisiana Department of Insurance (LDI) is tasked with
balancing the needs of insurance consumers with the
insurance industry’s need to operate competitively. The LDI
works diligently to protect the interest of policyholders while
promoting a flourishing insurance market that benefits all
residents and businesses in the great state of Louisiana. It is
our mission to make sure insurance is available, affordable
and accountable in Louisiana, and every action | take as
Commissioner is fargeted at achieving those goals.

As part of that mission, the LDI creates publications to provide
consumers, the insurance industry and other stakeholders

with educational information about insurance-related matters
in Louisiana.

| hope you find this publication informative, and | encourage
you to contact us with questions or concerns at 1-800-259-
5300 or Idi.la.gow.

Sincerely,
/ —_—
/ g / 7/ |\

Tim Temple

This public document is produced by the Louisiana Department of Insurance and is available online.

Rev. 03/2025
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What you
Need to know

Finding auto insurance that meets your needs
does not have to be difficult. Shop smart and
protect yourself with the fips below.

DON’T BUY THE FIRST POLICY YOU FIND.
DO’s:

v' DO SHOP AROUND for the policy that is
right for you.

4 DO GET QUOTES from several companies
before you sign an application and pay a
premium.

v' DO BE AWARE of insurance scam artists
and unauthorized insurance operations.

v' DO BUY ONLY FROM AUTHORIZED
insurance companies and producers. To
check on a company, call the Louisiana
Department of Insurance (LDI).

v' DO GET A DETAILED RECEIPT for all
payments that shows policy number, date
of payment, period of coverage, and
insurance company providing coverage.

HAVE QUESTIONS? We can help!

“Is this a legitimate company?”

* Admitted companies are those licensed
by the State of Louisiana. You can search
for a company'’s license status on the LDI
website at www.ldi.la.gow.

“Will this company be around
to pay my claims?”

* Insurance companies licensed by the
commissioner of insurance are backed
by the Louisiana Insurance Guaranty
Association (LIGA), which will pay the
claims of companies that go insolvent.

“Does the company treat
policyholders fairly?”

e Use the complaint index on LDI’s website to
compare complaint history for companies
and producers.

“What if | can’t get covered?”

e Consumers unable to secure auto
insurance coverage through the voluntary
market can seek coverage through the
Louisiana Automobile Insurance Plan (LAIP)
Contact LAIP at |aip@aipso.com or (866)
989-9902.

CHECK OUT LDI’s ONLINE COMPLAINT INDEX:
www.ldi.la.gov/onlineservices/complainfindex



https://www.ldi.la.gov
mailto:laip%40aipso.com?subject=
https://www.ldi.la.gov/onlineservices/complaintindex

IS auto insurance
Required by law?

Under Louisiana law, you must carry liability coverage on
any automobile you own.

This coverage pays for property damages or personal injury
for which you may be legally responsible, up to your policy’s
dollar limits.

In Louisiana, each vehicle is required to have 15/30/25
liability limits. Those limits provide payments of $15,000

for bodily injury to one person, $30,000 for bodily injury to
more than one person in a single accident, and $25,000
coverage for damage to someone else’s vehicle or other

property.

Louisiana liability limits: 15/30/25

)

Bodlily injury Bodily injury (morg Damage o .
(one person) ’rhqn one person in someone else's
asingle accident) vehicle or property

Liability insurance covers bodily injury or property damage
caused by you, your family members, and others driving
your vehicle with your permission.

You and your family memibers are also covered when
driving another person’s automobile including rental private
passenger vehicles.

Company cars and other non-owned cars regularly
available to you may not be covered by your personal
automobile policy unless you purchase endorsements for
such venhicles. You should clarify coverage or lack thereof
with your insurer and/or agent.
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Different types of
Coverage

Comprehensive coverage

Comprehensive coverage pays for specified
damages to your automobile, such as those
resulting from falling objects, flood, fire,
explosion, vandalism, theft or additional
named causes other than collision, subject to
any exclusions or limitations specified by your

policy.

Collision coverage

Collision coverage pays for damage to your
car that results fromn an accident. You can file
a claim under your own collision coverage,
whether or not you were at fault. Collision
coverage is always sold with a deductible.

Uninsured/underinsured motorist
coverage

Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage
pays benefits to you if your car is hit by a driver
who has no insurance or too little insurance

to pay for the full amount of your injuries or

property damage. If you have uninsured/
underinsured motorist coverage, any bodily
injury you or an occupant of your vehicle
suffers due to an accident caused by another
driver is covered under this policy. Hit-and-run
drivers may be classified as uninsured motorists,
but it helps if there is a disinterested witness to
the accident.

Uninsured/underinsured motorist
economic-only coverage

Uninsured/underinsured motorist economic-
only coverage is the same as uninsured
motorist coverage except that it covers ONLY
the actual costs of injuries to you and the
occupants of your vehicle. Pain and suffering
are not included under this coverage.

Uninsured/underinsured motorist
property damage coverage

Uninsured/underinsured motorist property
damage coverage provides for repairs

to your vehicle if you are in an accident

with an uninsured driver. A $§250 deductible
applies under this coverage, and with liability
coverage, your recovery is limited to $25,000
or the actual cash value of the vehicle,
whichever is less. You can purchase a higher
recovery limit if you choose.




Medical payments coverage

Medical payments coverage pays for
medical expenses for a designated period

of time following the accident, up to your
policy’s dollar limits. It also includes funeral
expenses. Medical payments covers you, your
family memibers and other passengers in your
car. Payments are made regardless of who is
to blame for the accident.

Towing and labor coverage

Towing and labor coverage pays for
tfowing costs and labor costs when your car
is disabled. Most automobile policies limit this
coverage to $25 per tow.

Did you know...

Coverage for trailers hitched to
vehicles

If you haul a trailer of any kind, such as a
camping trailer, or a utility trailer, be aware
that most insurance policies extend only the
liability portion of your vehicle coverage to
the trailer. Any physical damage coverage
purchased for your vehicle, like collision or
comprehensive, does not automatically
extend to the frailer.

This means you will have to pay to repair
any damage to your trailer if the accident
was your fault. You may be able to purchase
physical damage protection for your trailer
from your insurance company. Call your
insurance company or agent for more
information.

If you drive for a Transportation Network Company (TNC) like Uber or Lyft, you may
want your own insurance coverage on top of what the TNC may offer. Most personal
auto policies exclude coverage while you are carrying a passenger for hire.

TNC coverage can cover a variety of scenarios from the time while the TNC app is on,

but no match has been made to coverage while a driver is en route or

fransporting paying passengers.

There are insurers who offer to endorse coverage onto your policy—
usually for an additional premium—related to how much TNC driving
you do. Talk to your agent before you sign on as a TNC driver.




Concerns about
Coverage

Louisiana law requires that all registered
owners of an automobile carry liability
insurance. You may be subject to considerable
fines for knowingly operating a vehicle without
insurance, being involved in an accident
without insurance, and committing fraud by
falsely claiming to have insurance. There are
also penalties for lack of proof of insurance or
for letting your insurance lapse.

Drivers without liability insurance may also
have their driving privileges suspended

by having their vehicle impounded, their
registrations revoked or their license plates
canceled.

If you are involved in an accident without
liability insurance you may have your driver’s
license suspended and registrations revoked
for 180 days. Also, if you are caught falsely
claiming to have insurance, you may have
your license revoked for 12 to 18 months.

The law known as “No Pay, No Play” prohibits
uninsured motorists from collecting the first
$25,000 in property damages and the first
$15,000 in personal injuries regardless of who
causes the accident.

This law also includes a provision that may
allow you to waive your right to make a
legal claim for pain and suffering if you buy
economic-only uninsured motorist coverage.

Don’t hesitate to ask questions about
what your policy covers. You can start by
asking your producer what “full coverage”
means, and take it from there.

If you belong to an automobile club,
you may already have towing and labor
coverage. Check to be sure.

If you have health insurance, you may

not need medical payments coverage
for yourself. (See page 4.) However, you
can customize it to fill any gaps in your
health coverage. Additionally, some
medical payments coverage may include
passenger injuries.

If your car is older and paid for, you

may consider whether or not to carry
comprehensive and even collision coverage.
As vehicles age and lose their value, many
people drop their comprehensive and collision
coverage. Look at the cost of your annual
premium compared to your car’s "Blue Book”
value, minus your deductible.

Keep in mind that if you borrow money to buy
your car, the bank or other lender may require
you to carry comprehensive and collision
insurance until the vehicle is paid for.

When in doubt about coverage, always
reference your policy or ask your agent.




Factors affecting
Premiums &
discounts

What factors affect my premium?

It is illegal to use race or religion to set
insurance rates. However, the amount you
pay may be affected by your CREDIT INFO,
GENDER aond MARITAL STATUS, as well as the
following factors:

*  YOUR AGE. Generally, single males under
30 and females under 25 have much
higher insurance costs than other drivers.

*  WHERE YOU LIVE. Urban areas have a
higher incidence of accidents and auto
thefts than rural areas, so urban rates fend
to be higher.

*  TYPE OF CAR. Luxury, sports and high-
performance cars have the highest
comprehensive and collision rates.

* THE TYPE & AMOUNT OF COVERAGE.
How much you pay for coverage is
affected by the liability limits, medical
limits, uninsured motorist limits and optional
coverage, as well as your deductible
amounts. A deductible is your share of
the cost of comprehensive or collision
coverage. If you opt for a high deductible,
your premiums will be lower. For example,
buying collision coverage with a $500
deductible will cost less than the same
coverage with a $250 deductible.

*  YOUR DRIVING RECORD. If you have a
good driving record, some companies offer
a discount. Tickets and at-fault accidents
can mean higher premiums.

» HOW THE CAR IS PRIMARILY USED.
How much do you use your car?
The more miles you drive means there
are more chances for violations and/
or accidents. Therefore, people who

drive their car to work, use it for work or
commute long distances will pay more
than those who only drive occasionally,
which is often called “pleasure use.”

In fact, some companies offer a discount
for vehicles driven less than a certain
numiber of miles per year.

BASIC PARTS OF AN AUTO
INSURANCE POLICY

YAUTO

Insurance
DECLARATIONS
Information Page
« Policy number \

. Effective dates

. Vehicles covered
« Lien holder (if any) ——
. Coverages & limits

« Premium amounts

. Discounts & surcharges
« Agent/company

B contact )

This part may be
several pages long. It
details coverage in
specific language,
including definitions,
——— condifions, exclusions —
L | and exceptions. ]

| |
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What kinds of discounts can | get?

*  Many insurance companies offer discounts
under a “multi-car” plan if you insure two
or more cars with them.

*  Similarly, you may get an auto insurance
discount if you have life or homeowners
insurance with the same company.

*  Nowadays, some insurance companies
offer discount programs using felematics.
Also known as usage- and behavior-
based or "pay how you drive” insurance,
this method allows companies to track

your driving habits such as speed, distance,

braking and phone use (among other
factors) to calculate your premium.

*  Most Louisiana insurance companies give
discounts to full-time students with a B
average or higher, but there are others,
such as discounts for senior citizens.
Check with your agent to see if you qualify
for any.

°  Some companies may reduce your liability
and collision premiums if you take a
defensive driving course. Teenagers who
have taken driver education may get a
similar discount.

* You may be entitled to a discount if you
have exira safety features on your
vehicle, such as anti-lock brakes, anti-theft
devices and air bags.

Renewals &
Cancellation

Policy expiration dates

The exact time a policy expires may vary

frorn company to company. Policyholders
should check their declarations page or policy
language to deftermine at what time their
policy expires on the expiration date.

This may be important if you plan to change
insurance providers, so don’t wait until the

last day to shop around. Depending on what
tfime your policy expires, a delay could result in
inferrupted or lapsed coverage.

Mid-term cancellation of your
policy

Louisiana does not have any provisions that
restrict mid-term cancellations.

Cancellation provisions and the return of
unearned premium will vary based on the type
of insurance and whether the cancellation
was initiated by the company or the policy
holder.

If you have questions, check your
policy document or ask your agent for
clarification.




Frequently asked
Questions

Will my teenager be covered when he goes to college out of state?

If your tfeenager is not taking up permanent residence in that state, most companies
will not require you to make any changes to your policy. But you should ask your
agent to be sure.

Will my friend be covered if she has an accident driving my car?

As long as your friend has the owner’s permission to drive the car and is a licensed driver,
she is covered under the owner’s policy. The exception would be a person who had
been excluded from coverage under that policy.

| drove through high water. Is damage due to flooding covered?

Coverage would depend on the type of policy you have on the vehicle. If you have a
comprehensive policy on your vehicle, you will more than likely be covered for damage
due to flooding.

However, if you have only liability coverage or liability/collision coverage, it is highly
probable that you will not be covered for any flood damage to your vehicle. You should
check with your agent to find out what your policy covers and in what amounts.

Who is considered at fault for accidents in a parking lot?

In a parking lot, as in any place else you operate your vehicle, all of the usual rules
regarding insurance apply. For instance, if a driver is backing out of a parking space and
hits another car that has the right of way, the driver backing out is at fault.

But there are situations in parking lots where fault is not as clear cut. For example, if
you and another driver are both backing out of a space or both cutfting across empty
spaces when you collide, both drivers may be considered at fault,

Generally speaking, you must be considered a least 50% at fault for your liability to pay.
Therefore, in many parking lot incidents, neither driver’s policy will

pay for damage to the other vehicle because the drivers share

the liability.




What to expect...
Accidents & claims

What to do if you are involved in an
accident

1. CALL the police immediately, specifically
Q@11 if there are injuries.

2. SNAP a photo of the scene and take
notes, if safely possible.

3. EXCHANGE the following information with
the other driver; name, address, telephone
number, license plate number, driver’s
license number and insurance information.

4. NOTIFY your insurance agent or company.
These days, there are apps to quickly and
easily guide you through the process of
reporting and filing a claim. See if your
insurance company has one!

5. OBTAIN a copy of the police report for
your records, no matter who is at fault.

Filing a claim

When you contact your insurance company
or agent to report the accident, they will open
a claim file and give you further instructions on
what to do.

Depending on the type and amount of
coverages you have, your insurer may be able
to immediately begin paying benefits, such as
medical treatment, rental vehicle or vehicle
repairs.

If you believe that the other driver was at

fault, you may also contact the other driver’s
insurance company and file a claim with them
as well. Make sure to provide your insurer with
the other insurance company’s information
including the claim number (if one is assigned).

The other driver’s insurance company and
your insurance company will investigate the
claim to determine liability. If the other driver
is determined to be at fault, any payments
made by your insurance company under your
insurance policy, or any deductibles paid

by you to your insurance company, may be
recouped by your insurer from the at-fault
driver’s insurance company.

Print a copy of this AUTO ACCIDENT CHECKLIST and keep it
in your vehicle to record information in case of an accident:

https:/ /www.insureuonline.org/auto_accident_checklist.pdf

If your car is stolen or involved in a
hit-and-run, call the police at once.



https://www.insureuonline.org/auto_accident_checklist.pdf

Quote information

Use this worksheet as a place to record information you will need for a producer or company to
give you an accurate premium quote.

1. VEHICLES TO BE INSURED:

Make/model Year Vehicle ID number Miles to work

Auto #1

Auto #2

Autfo #3

2. PRINCIPAL OWNER AND OPERATOR OF VEHICLES:

3. DRIVERS TO BE INSURED ON THE POLICY:

Name License # Age Gender  Marital status

4. ACCIDENTS OR MOVING VIOLATIONS OF EACH DRIVER OVER THE PAST THREE YEARS:

5. CHECK DISCOUNTS YOU MAY BE ELIGIBLE FOR:

|:| Defensive driving |:| Driver education |:| Anti-theft devices |:| High GPA (students)



Comparison chart WORKSHEET #2

Use this chart to record coverages you want and the prices quoted by each company you

contact.
ANNUAL PREMIUMS
COMPANY 1 COMPANY 2 COMPANY 3
LIABILITY
Bodily injury
S / person

S / accident

Property damage

S / person

COLLISION

S Deductible $ $ S

COMPREHENSIVE

S Deductible S S S

UNINSURED /UNDERINSURED MOTORIST

Bodily injury

S / person s s 5

S__ /accident

Property damage

S_____ /person $ S $

OTHER COVERAGES
S S S
S S S
S S S

TOTAL ALL

COVERAGES $ $ $
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