
2017 Louisiana Annual Premium Tax Information 
 
 

The 2017 Annual Premium Tax Statement (Form 1061) and the 2016 Annual Municipal Premium & Tax Report 

(Form 1076) are filed online through the Industry Access Portal. Companies claiming the investment tax credit must 

also complete Form 1068C – 2017 Investment Tax Credit Report of Qualifying Assets. Companies claiming the 

military tax credit must complete Form 1425 – Military Discount Tax Credit Report.  Both Form 1068C and Form 

1425 are available on our website and must be scammed and uploaded to the Louisiana Department of Insurance 

along with the supporting documents.  We also accept forms filed online through TriTech Software’s Premium Pro 

tax program. 

How are health maintenance organizations taxed? 

Health maintenance organizations are taxed at 5.5% instead of calculating the tax using the Form 1062A – Life, 

Accident and Health Tax Table per Act 1 of the 2016 2nd Extraordinary Session of the Louisiana Legislature.    

How much is the investment tax credit for 2017? 

Per Act 7 of the 2016 2nd Extraordinary Session, for companies claiming the investment tax credit for 2016 and 

2017, the investment tax credit has been reduced to 95% of the credit amount as previously calculated prior to 

2016.  This reduction does not apply to companies writing life insurance with less than $15 million of admitted 

assets or health maintenance organizations. 

I filed Form 1061 online using the Industry Access Portal. Why is some information already loaded? 

Information such as prepayment amounts, overpayments, guaranty fund credits and CAPCO credits are 

automatically loaded into the online form to reduce filing errors.  

What is the 2017 Annual Municipal Premium and Tax Report (Form 1076)? 

Form 1076 allocates Louisiana premiums written to the various municipalities and parishes. There is an option to 

upload an excel spreadsheet containing the premium and tax allocation information in lieu of entering the 

information line by line.  If you have problems accessing the online filing section, contact our Premium Tax Division. 

Tax filings are done online but do balances have to be paid online? 

You may elect to pay any balance due by check, online payment or EFT ACH credit. If you pay by check, please 

include the online payment coupon so it may be applied to the check correctly.  

How much is the annual financial regulation fee? 

The $1,000 financial regulation fee, per Act 191 of the 2007 Louisiana Regular Session, is payable with Form 1061. 

Risk Retention groups do not have to pay this fee. Also, the fee is not included in the calculation of the net 

premium tax for Form 1071 quarterly prepayment purposes.  
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